After yet another groove-stuffed 12 months, featuring the likes of Techin & Cahio, Mendo, BizZa, ACA (YU), Kidoo, Spega, Tides, Copasetic, Manolaco, E.T.H. (Italy), David Mentesana, William Marques, Jorge Mattos, Piero Scratch, Mene, Melanie Ribbe and Jonatas C, Clarisse get 2023 under way with another clutch of addictive deep house wiggles to get your calendar set.

Eurostep & Trallez get the EP off to a flying start by letting off the G-force of ‘Galaxy’, a North-South America connection stretching and snapping hip-hop vocals into place. There’s instant understanding of the Clarisse blueprint – rolling, bubbling and packing dancefloors in a haze of body heat. Always getting clubbers hip to hip.

Mendo chips in with ‘Dale Fuerte’, a bassline-centred roller (translation – ‘hit it hard’) showing all the style the man is renowned for. The insertion of international lyrics give the chance for crowds to call and respond, and whirring patterns mimic the movements of the masses spinning in time.

Weekend rumbler Sunday Noise and Alfie Rhodes out of Greece renew their payday partnership for ‘Tonight’, a bassline flip-flopping melodically over itself and with a sweet vocal proving that music’s hypnotising: a frisky sugar-rush, stacked with drum fill clattering.

More serious bottom end pressure comes from the garage-style skip of Toni Varga’s ‘Malaca’, the Elrow entertainer another to lock onto international airwaves, and tracking a persistent sonar-style synth keeping his name on everyone’s radar.

VM(Ita) shouting out ‘Yo’ completes the collection, a bubbling bass stutter and synth sounds looking for alien contact, making this one from Italy’s one-to-watch an out-of-dancefloor experience, enhanced by ragga vocals and breakdowns hot off the launchpad. All five tracks have the very Clarisse knack of adopting the form of a dancefloor jigsaw puzzle, fluently piecing together fragments and fractures and smoothing down odds and ends, while classily hectic house reigns supreme.




Artist: Various Artists
Title: Clarisse Various Artists Vol.8
Label: Clarisse Records
Release Date: 2023-01-27




– jbravo
Juany Bravo

Managing Editor