Nigerian singer, songwriter and actress Nneka has unveiled her hotly-anticipated new album Love Supreme, out 11th February.


A 13-track release, Love Supreme sees Nneka moving to independently release her music on her own imprint, Bushqueen Music, in response to major labels failing to trust her artistry and creativity in the past. She insists that this creative shift has helped her reconnect with her health (both mental and physical), and the album is a product of her personal development and creative growth through the enforced solitude of lockdown. “It became about self-reflection, and seeing how connected our inner world is to the outer world,” she explains further.


Opening proceedings is ‘With You’, an emotion-driven ballad with love and loss at its heart that immediately sets the tone. It’s the first of seven singles on Love Supreme – six of which make up the first six tracks on the LP. Next is the title track, a moody jam with an infectious synth line, the charming ‘Tea?’,  which focuses on a reconnection with a long-lost friend who is suddenly back in town, and sensual ‘Yahweh’. ‘This Life’ is a majestic track befitting of its title, while ‘About Guilt’ is a powerful ballad exploring themes of guilt and forgiveness.


Next up, is the endearing ‘Space’, impassioned ‘God’s Love’, empowering ‘Yansh’, which sees Nneka reconnect with her Nigerian roots, and heart-rending ‘Walk Away’, before the LP’s final single comes in the form of ‘Maya’, a track armed with infectious gospel energy. Closing things out, ‘Buckle Up’ is a hypnotic ode to enjoying the wild ride that is life, before ‘Sea’ ensures the album finishes on a poignant note. The release of Love Supreme precedes a performance at London’s Islington Assembly Hall on 3rd April.


Born and raised around the Delta region of Nigeria, Nneka Lucia Egbuna moved to Germany aged 19 to study Anthropology at Hamburg University. It was during her student years that she honed her craft as a singer-songwriter. Her politically charged lyrics – examining a myriad of social issues, including maternal love, heartbreak and the quest for justice – swiftly established her as one of Africa’s most powerful voices. Working tirelessly over the last decade, she has released three albums, also scoring a UK ‘Top 20’ hit and being sampled by Rita Ora for her UK #1 single ‘R.I.P’.


Her first album release in eight years, Love Supreme represents a new creative phase in the evolution of Nneka – both as an artist and a human being.


Love Supreme tracklist


  1. With You
  2. Love Supreme
  3. Tea
  4. Yahweh
  5. This Life
  6. About Guilt
  7. Space
  8. God’s Love
  9. Yansh
  10. Walk Away
  11. Maya
  12. Buckle Up
  13. Sea