Multifaceted Nigerian-German talent Nneka has unveiled her impassioned new single ‘Maya’.

Channeling infectious gospel energy, ‘Maya’ combines delicate piano chords and downbeat guitars with Nneka’s soaring, impassioned vocals. Accompanying the release is a beautiful video directed by Noah Felk and Nneka herself, shot in Nairobi. Watch the video HERE. ‘Maya‘ follows recent singles ‘With You’, ‘This Life’, ‘Yahweh’, ‘Tea?’ and ‘Love Supreme’, with all six tracks set to feature on her forthcoming album Love Supreme, out 11th February.

Love Supreme follows a five-year musical hiatus, with Nneka moving to independently release her music, in response to major labels failing to trust her artistry and creativity in the past. She insists that this creative shift has helped her reconnect with her health (both mental and physical), sanity and general work-life balance. Love Supreme is a soul-searching record inspired by existentialism, with Nneka adding that “being present is the key, in that moment, in this moment” is the mantra that underpins the LP. 

Born and raised around the Delta region of Nigeria, Nneka Lucia Egbuna moved to Germany aged 19 to study Anthropology at Hamburg University. It was during her student years that she honed her craft as a singer-songwriter. Her politically charged lyrics – examining a myriad of social issues, including maternal love, heartbreak and the quest for justice – swiftly established her as one of Africa’s most powerful voices. Working tirelessly over the last decade, she has released three albums, also scoring a UK ‘Top 20’ hit and being sampled by Rita Ora for her UK #1 single ‘R.I.P’

Love Supreme tracklist


  1. With You
  2. Love Supreme
  3. Tea
  4. Yahweh
  5. This Life
  6. About Guilt
  7. Space
  8. God’s Love
  9. Yansh
  10. Walk Away
  11. Maya
  12. Buckle Up
  13. Sea


To find out more about Nneka, go to: